East Grinstead boy, 11, swims a mile to give children in Laos books to read

KING OF THE SWIMMERS: Sebastian Green, 11, swam a mile to raise money for books for children in Laos.  Photo by Kevin Shaw

A YOUNG swimmer swam his first mile to raise money for children on the other side of the world.

Sebastian Green completed approximately 64 lengths in the pool at the Kings Centre in East Grinstead on Thursday in support of Books for Laos.

The 11-year-old, now set to join Sackville School, said: “Someone came into my school to talk about the charity and I really wanted to help out. I completed my first mile in the pool and I had a lot of fun doing it.

“I started swimming when I was about three or four and I wasn’t very good at it, but it was always fun. I started to practise more and more, and now I’ve become quite good at it.

His father Ian added: “It’s fair to say his mum and I are about as proud as we could be.”

Leave a Reply

